Poets logo

What Happened to My Home?

These are my thoughts and opinions on my home.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
24
What Happened to My Home?
Photo by Pixasquare on Unsplash

Home in Texas is a special place

Where the cattle roam

And the seasons change every five minutes

You can experience a chilly breeze and the burning sun all within the same day

*

When I left home for Afghanistan

It was these silly things I missed the most

The way you hope for snow every winter

Then complain when it finally snows

*

By Adam Chang on Unsplash

It always snowed during the winter in Afghanistan

It was cold, desolate and unforgiving

So unlike the warmth, love and peace I knew back home

But I’ll still complain about the heat

*

However, with everything going on in Texas

I can hardly recognize the home I grew up in

Texas was supposed to be a place of freedom for all

But it's taking more freedoms away by the day

*

By Mick Haupt on Unsplash

Remember the Alamo?

Remember that Texans used to fight and protect?

Now my home squabbles back and forth

I don’t see that Texas anymore

*

This state doesn’t feel like home anymore

The sunlight is overbearing, and painful to look at

The warmth has turned cold just like our politicians

What happened to my home?

social commentary
24

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.