Poets logo

One Year Out.

Feelings a Year On From a Broken Engagement

By Tommy BallardPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Reframed Photos - An Original Glitch Art Piece of Mine.

One Year Out.

One whole year away from all the havoc you wrought.

One whole year out, there's still rubble of what was marble, before the decay you brought.

One Year Out.

One whole year out and my flame for you has long been gone.

One whole year out and the feelings are numb, not just for you, you made them this way for everything and everyone.

One Year Out.

One whole year out and I used to think we were for life.

One whole year out and I know God's looking out for me that you never became my wife.

One Year Out.

One whole year out, I used to think your love was something I couldn't live or breathe without.

One whole year out, you called it limerence, now it's very existence is steeped in doubt.

One whole year out.

I used to think you were my soulmate. My star crossed lover, set to always be my stirred up queen on methylphenidate.

Now I know you're a narcissist, a solipsist, a delusionist. A hypocritical maniac with malice behind the eyes and a soul pure black. A jack of no trades but a master manipulator. You will always be my biggest betrayer.

sad poetryslam poetry
1

About the Creator

Tommy Ballard

I'm a professional writer, a poet, a digital artist and an amateur musician. In my free time, I can often be found pondering magnets, breaking and entering random homes to steal locks of human hair and throwing car batteries into the ocean.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • MandehPandahabout a year ago

    Healing is a journey and repairing takes time. I love the emotion and passion in this writing. You're amazing<3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.