Poets logo

One Way

Ignoring signs doesn't make it what you want. It just makes you ignorant.

By Symbollica The'BatPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
One Way
Photo by Parsoa Khorsand on Unsplash

Take your toll

A one way road

You hid the signs for

Time and time again

Some beneath stray branches,

A few you covered over

As if the hazard really ended

You stowed some signs

Under the overpass

One more comment

Just in passing

"Oh I'll just say--" NO.

Actually let me pass

on your bullshit

Let me pass on you steering people

Behind my back

Because when you've taken too much

And I can't anymore,

*I'm* clearly the problem

For “being cold,” giving you anxiety

(Nevermind the anxiety you gave me)

I don't care what you told them,

When every time I went home crying.

I just care that you told them lies

You left out the part where you did it again;

And I left you out of my priorities in turn

Because I only have so much mental health

And you have taken so much of it.

Yours is a one- way road.

A cul-de-sac you've built in the middle of a six-lane highway

And when people say you need to be careful--

You're affecting them and their safety

You say "oh gee, I didn't know"

While you sit on a pile of stop signs you tore right out of the pavement

Because it has to be going your way.

social commentaryslam poetryFriendship

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Aspire5 months ago

    When speaking loudly and clearly, it seems the gloats ignore everything. Frustrations abound with bright trinkets, futilely covering gross stinks. In their vain attempts to allure with sweet words, the nose is masked in mire. Why claim they have changed for good when this fruit tree has nothing in season? Repeating broken promises, fools insist that this time, it's different. Please, show me your fruits. If you have nothing to share, I'm not interested. Goodbye, thou vain mirrors. Your images do feel a bit fake anyway. Your poetry provided a lot of illustration, Sym.

Symbollica The'BatWritten by Symbollica The'Bat

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.