Poets logo

One of Everything

What if there were only one of everything in our world?

By Annelise Lords Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Image by Annelise Lords

This poem was inspired by the bi-racial young lady in Madison Wisconsin, who was set on fire while in her car waiting at the stoplight.

Racism is getting out of control

And your life is in danger if you aren’t a part of a certain fold

I am bi-racial and it could have been me

Whatever my race don’t I have a right to be?

I didn’t ask to be here,

But I am, I didn’t volunteer

Brought here by either love or lust

Being black and white creates so much fuss

I look at me

And I can’t see

Which race determines my identity

I am human, black and white

But danger approaches from both sides

God created me this way

A gift to someone, I must say

Our earth is for all races

No matter the color of our skin and faces

What if all of our fruits start to fight?

To determine who is right

Which fruit will be the one?

What if all of our vegetables decide to follow?

Fighting one another

Which vegetable will win the prize to be the leader?

Then animals, trees, and plants will decide

That only one of each can survive

One seasoning, one flavor, one aroma

To our taste buds, this will be quite a dilemma

One food, one dessert, one beverage,

Nothing to choose from, no privilege

One star, one planet, one of everything

Then the earth will be struggling

Because everything on this planet

Like it or not, is connected

When we eliminate other races,

We will remove all traces

Of their culture, music, food, ideas, inventions,

All things they have created and use that aid in everyone’s existence

Every race adds to the circle of life

And most do it without strife

But you must realize

That our birth didn’t give us a choice

Now because of our race, we don’t have a voice

I ask, “Will humanity be satisfied with only one of everything?

Copyright 2020 by Annelise Lords

Image by Annelise Lords

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.