Poets logo

One Night with you

It's Just a Dream!

By John KeablePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

If I could spend one night with you, I wonder what we’d do;

Talk until the sun came up; maybe share a joke or two?

Or maybe I could take you out, to a restaurant so fine;

I would enjoy your company and adore you while we dine.

And then on to a bar or two, for a few drinks, or more;

Until at last I’d take you home and see you safely to your door.

I never would impose on you, something you would not do;

But I wonder if you’d invite me in, to spend the night with you?

I ask you if you're tired and you shake your head and smile,

I say, “I'll go back to my room”, but you say "stay a while;"

So, we sit down on the hotel bed, and I wish that I felt bolder,

But nervously I place one arm just around your shoulder;

You lay your head upon my chest and give a little sigh,

Encouraged, with my other hand, I gently stroke your thigh.

I turn to kiss you on the cheek, but you turn, I kiss your lips,

And I can feel your soft warm flesh, beneath my fingertips.

I ask if you're okay with this, "if you want me to, I'll stop”.

But you smile and shake your head and I think my heart will pop.

It’s all I dream, and I know it’s unlikely to come true,

But I wonder if I ever could spend just one night with you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.