Poets logo

One in a Hundred

Thousand, Million, Billion Girls in Hollywood

By Emily E MahonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I'm just one of a hundred, thousand, million, billion girls in Hollywood

Wearing a hat for everybody to see.

I'm just one of a hundred, thousand, million, billion girls in Hollywood

Trying to make it in the city by the sea.

But now I'm caught in a circus, a round-about, lost in the lights of Hollywood

Dating again, so I can find my next meal.

Aren't my fingernails pretty?

And my conversation witty?

Aren't my high heels sexy?

And my brown eyes fetching?

So I'll give up acting and buy a guitar, write a few songs about Hollywood

Maybe I can can get a coffee shop gig.

After my 9-5 I'll play my songs and feel I'm part of Hollywood

Maybe sell a CD and get a gig at a bar.

Then I'll be one of a hundred, thousand, million, billion girls in Hollywood

singing about the jerk who broke my heart.

Aren't my fingernails pretty?

And my song lyrics gritty?

Aren't my high heels sexy?

And my poetry vexing?

I'm just one of a hundred, thousand, million, billion girls in Hollywood

wearing a hat for everybody to see.

I'm just one of a hundred, thousand million, billion girls in Hollywood

Thinking world still revolves around me.

I'll have you know

The world revolves around me.

Aren't my fingernails pretty?

And my conversation witty?

Aren't my high heels sexy?

And my brown eyes fetching?

I'm just one of a hundred, thousand, million, billion girls in Hollywood.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Emily E Mahon

My training is in vocal performance and I love the fact that I'm sharing my writing practice on a platform called "vocal." It's just too perfect. I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.