Poets logo

Once Upon A Time

not quite a fairytale

By Anna JPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Once Upon A Time
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Once upon a time, blue was my world.

The color of the sky right before a storm,

A gentle blue-grey that melted my soul,

Captivated my heart in wondrous feeling,

Calming the whirlwind of my mind with

An ease that I was scared to lose.

Once upon a time, I believed in you.

I believed you cared and you worried

And just maybe you felt what I did,

The feeling of freedom and happiness,

That peaceful, healing warmth of

Pure joy that I now miss so tenderly.

Once upon a time, I wasn’t afraid.

I didn’t worry about what happened,

About what was, what could have been,

Because I had you and I was content

To feel all that I could without the fear

That people aren’t all they claim to be.

But that was once upon a time.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Anna J

just a kid who loves to write

~why do we measure our success with someone else’s ruler?~

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.