Poets logo

Once, There Was A Flying Girl

by Jasmine Knapper

By jasmine knapperPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Once, There Was A Flying Girl
Photo by Billy Huynh on Unsplash

I am in my parents room

lying alone

serenely on their bed

all of a sudden I can feel a peaceful presence

beside me

all around me

call me crazy but it feels like God

it is a calm

thoughtful presence

He urges me

to raise my arms

I extend them

as far as they go

and then a burst of wind

that must come

from God lifts me up

My feet push up from the bed

Arms bended like wings

on an airplane

and this inconspicuous wind

Somehow pulling me

like a doll on invisible strings

Pulling me further and further

Higher and higher

My eyes are closed shut

But not in fear

It's so I can only feel the motion

I am in awe

twisting my form until I am spinning

in the air

around the room

somehow avoiding every piece of furniture

even the ceiling

I am perfectly sure this is what it feels like to fly

I am gliding

soaring

Like a flying squirrel

and all the while

I feel the jubilant glee

of Father God beside me

Like me

enjoying the ride

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

jasmine knapper

I am a 26 year old with an eternal love of writing, reading, and God. I am a college graduate and am looking to push myself to write on a continuous basis so I can become a published author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.