Poets logo

Once In a Lifetime Opportunity

To Love and Be Loved Authentically

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Once In a Lifetime Opportunity
Photo by Adam Hornyak on Unsplash

I have all flavors of love on tap

but I'm selective with what I drink

*

It's a once in a lifetime chance

to have a shot at love with me

*

Most don't even get

the slightest opportunity

*

Most don't even come close

to where he got with me

*

I fell hard

I fell fast

Something

normally odd for me

*

It was new

It was scary

but I was all for it

My chips were all in

*

I wasn't sure why

but I didn't care

I loved the feelings

I was feeling

*

It was soulful

It was sobering

It was real

It was rare

*

And now

it just was

*

It was a once in a lifetime chance

but he wouldn't believe it

*

He stumbled upon real love

yet refused to feel it

*

Most don't even know

what they got

until it recedes

*

Until it evaporates

with time wasted

in the heat

*

No one has ever

come as close as he did

To experience this

once in lifetime opportunity

To love and be loved authentically

by someone as selective as me

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.