Poets logo

Honest Living

The Fool vs The Wise One

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Honest Living
Photo by Afif Kusuma on Unsplash

Don't correct a fool

or they will hate you

*

Correct a wise one

and they will appreciate you

*

I've always appreciated

constructive criticism

It helps me grow

*

It helps me break free

of the molds

Created

to hold me safe

from the dynamic

changes of the world

as life unfolds

sometimes uneasy

*

It helps me liberate

myself from the

dogmatic slumber

that keeps me

dreaming

immobile in my skin

*

It helps me learn

what I don't know

It helps me undo

what's been done

*

I realize not all

people can handle

facing flaws

*

When you point it out

even with love

they often become

infuriated that

you've seen them beyond

the face they present

to the world

The mask they've put on

*

That you've seen

the parts of them

that they've hid

even from themselves

*

I will still correct the fool

for the sake of being real

Because the medicine

needed to heal

sometimes tastes bitter

*

I will still correct the fool

No matter what

they think of me

It doesn't bother me

I've been hated before

and it isn't the worst thing

*

Living through truth

is what I find most gratifying

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.