Poets logo

Trash Can Bomb

Sparkly Surprise

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Trash Can Bomb
Photo by Doug Kelley on Unsplash

He said,

"Girl, you're hotter than a trash can bomb."

*

I looked at him

with a raise eyebrow

and laughed

*

His eyes bulged

"Wait, that came out wrong."

*

I smiled and said,

"You're lucky I know how cool those are

or I might be insulted."

*

We reminisced on that day

*

It was the day after

American Independence Day

*

We met at Pleasure Point

*

I told him that I was bummed

I worked graveyard all night

so I didn't get to see fireworks

*

He reassured me,

"Maybe we'll see some today."

*

We walked the bluffs

played music

and shared laughs

*

The sun was setting

the stars were rising

when we heard a

*BANG*

*

The sky ahead sparkled

My eyes exploded

My heart pounded like a child

I shouted like I've never

seen sparks in the sky

*

"Let's go!!! Maybe there's more."

*

We joyfully scurried to the source

He shouted his favorite poem of mine

about Independence Day as we walked

It made the people on the street laugh

*

That's when 3 meters ahead

another firework exploded

right above our heads

*

The pyros were a group of teenagers

running amok in the streets

*

I asked them if they had more

They waved for us to follow them

*

He was hesitant

but I interjected and said,

"Yeah!!!"

*

We followed them

to the end of a cul de sac

in the neighborhood

*

Just when we thought

they were going to

set of fireworks off

on the beach

*

They did something else

we did not expect

*

They pulled one of the

neighbors trash cans

into the street

lit a firework

and threw it in

*

We backed up

It burped

*

Just when I said,

"That was anticlimactic."

The trash can jumped

It lit up with sparks

and exploded

*

He started running away

while I walked

"If you run you'll look more suspicious."

*

He slowed down

and we walked leisurely

away from the scene

*

He told me he couldn't believe

that I was so excited to

hang with teenagers

That he was just about to decline

but he was glad that I said yes instead

"That was one of the coolest things

I've ever seen"

*

I said,

"That was my inner child speaking."

"I find joy in new experiences."

*

We agreed that day that a trash can bomb

is the definition of honoring your inner child

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.