Poets logo

Heart Beats

The Drummer and The Dancer

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Heart Beats
Photo by Uwe Conrad on Unsplash

Dum Ka

Tek Ka Tek Ka

Ka

Dum Ka

Tek Ka Tek Ka

Ka

Dum Dum

Ka

*

Feeling the rhythms

of the ancient sound

*

Underneath my finger tips

I feel the rhythm

move through the ground

move through my hips

*

She taught me how to tap

and how to step

*

She said the drummer's beat

must be one with the dancer feet

*

She said the drummer

must make love to the dancer

with their music

*

Her words made me realize

why their eyes fixate on me

moving through the crowd

in the sea of music

*

Why I've fallen into the hands

of the drummers

by the end of the show

*

Their rhythms enchant me

My body moves to the beat

*

We make love to the music

Off the dance floor

it's another masterpiece

art
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.