Poets logo

Once Burned...

A poem about having your guard up, and the vulnerability that comes with having it unsuspectingly burnt to the ground.

By Rebekah CrawleyPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
6
Image Credit: Lil Artsy (Pexels)

Before you I was open, unassuming, I let everyone in.

Until you breached my defences; pumped petrol into my heart;

And then so flippantly, flicked a match into my aorta - with such precision.

You always were a good shot.

Now I sit alone, heaving out black smoke,

And spewing fire at anyone who gets too close.

I strengthened my defences.

So no one like you can ever breach them again,

Encased in barbed wire fencing I tend,

To a tiny, charred, black heart,

That slowly, I'll try to mend.

Quietly hoping perhaps one day...

It will run red,

Again.

***

Thank you for reading my work, if you enjoyed this piece there is some more poetry from me linked below. If you'd like to see more of my work subscribe here, and follow me on Twitter @CrawleyRebekah.

sad poetryheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Rebekah Crawley

I talk about healing, mental health advocacy, personal development, the human mind, philosophy, spirituality, and more.

Thank you for being here 🤍

📬 Twitter: @rebekahhhc224

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Brilliant, bold & beautiful!!! Loved this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • And spewing fire at anyone who gets too close. This line hit me so hard because this is what I've become now. I've become to toxic and cold. I mended my charred heart a few times and let people in again only for them to pump petrol into my heart and flick a match into my aorta with such precision. And now, I'm extremely exhausted of trying to mend it. I loved your poem so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.