Poets logo

On Tippy-Toes

I Say What I Believe

By Dan R FowlerPublished 14 days ago 1 min read

On Tippy Toes

There’s a game we children played some time ago,

When no Televisions existed barely even a small radio.

It kept us busy and out of the way of opposition as I remember,

Grown-ups talking sharing opinions embroiled as a burning ember.

We’d ease our way around the corners of each room,

Creating scary shadows and silenced laughter in the gloom.

But even upon small tippy toes each of us slid along the walls,

We didn’t move quick enough and soon we heard the calls.

“Can’t you see that we’re talking here so stop playing around,

Get yourselves into another room or outside on the ground.”

Shouted the old people sitting at the table made of chrome.

“You know we don’t like no noise from children in our home!”

It’s been decades that scene within me has been hiding,

Of me and my siblings on tippy toes across the floors sliding.

Those days of keeping quiet no sounds were to be made,

Has come to the forefront in this world we live in today.

It’s as if on tippy toes we must all balance or be chastised,

For living our faith, our life, whatever way I may decide.

Like in my childhood the shouting and slashing words are trumpeted,

Simply because my opinions are different contrary and not coveted.

In this day this world this time that we now live rightfully so,

Allowed speak one’s opinion or live contrary is grief to the status quo.

I refuse to walk on tippy toes in my world’s rooms anymore,

Simply because people try to put upon me their life that I abhor.

I don’t tippy-toe around topics that make people uncomfortable,

To do so would dissolve my life, my heart making me vulnerable.

Heretofore, on tippy toes I followed all the rules to the letter,

But now gray-headed, I stand flatfooted, straight-faced tossing my fetters.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran13 days ago

    This was extremely powerful! I freaking loved it!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.