Poets logo

Endless Quest

Never-ending Journey

By Dan R FowlerPublished 14 days ago 1 min read

Endless Quest

At my table with fingers over keyboard poised,

Awaiting inspiration some story to be deployed.

My mind in its ever-changing kaleidoscopic fashion,

Thoughts seared with feelings both melancholy and ashen.

It’s not the crowds or pleading assailants I seek to please,

But my lonely broken spirit that brings me to my knees.

Vacant lines crying, empty plots seared by time’s remorse

No longer corralled encircling some tear or smile or simple course.

Within the depths of what was supposed to have been,

Awaits a single line, a simple notion, a simple lyrical friend.

Pen drawn as if on some writer’s battlefield pondering,

Wind’s last breath, a dream’s single whisper hopelessly atoning.

This wasn’t my purpose as some might have thought,

That’s tethered me everlastingly a scribe’s imprisonment sought.

Yet, with soiled feeble fingers, pinched brow, and squished eyes I sit,

Starving with my mind groping some tale to tell, I’ll never quit.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.