Poets logo

On A Ledge

Free Falling

By J. K. AndersonPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
On A Ledge
Photo by Ben Lambert on Unsplash

I can’t seem to touch the floor

You save me from drowning

Yet in my mind there is still war

I felt lost in myself so I ran

I forgot that life has meaning

I gave up on life because I can

Never thought I’d stumble here

Alone yet again in my mind

Never thought in the millionth year

As if disconnecting will bring peace

I assumed I had won, even in my absence

All I did was accumulate filthy grease

Finally you came along but I’m so fucked I can’t do it right

My head is spinning and I can’t appreciate living

All I want to do is beat myself and win this fight

I can’t tell if you’re a distraction, my future or a test

Looking for peace in the middle of this noise

I can’t tell if I’m losing what could be the best

Forgive me because I can’t control all of me

The self has never been a priority

I try my best to breathe and count to three

Yet I can’t stop how I feel and what I want

Your story makes me sad and I feel for you

Still I’m stuck in my head but I act nonchalant

I don’t want to disrespect you and I understand your boundaries now

Even still I’m physical and that’s my love language

So you know why I get so frustrated when you don’t allow

When I can’t love the way I feel that I must

Loving with my actions and my body

I feel hurt even when I know it’s just

I’m sorry I can’t be everything you want and more

I’m sorry I have trouble with my self control

I wish we were more open before

Speak to me more, don’t let me sit there frustrated

My depression gets worse like that, which isn’t your fault

But this is how I am, a bit overrated

performance poetryMental HealthFor Funart

About the Creator

J. K. Anderson

An author tied to the belief that Christ is YHWH. Open minded and eager to show my wild imagination to all people. I'm not a happy writer but I'm happy to write. Doing it all for fun and a distraction from reality.

Thanks for stopping by :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    J. K. AndersonWritten by J. K. Anderson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.