Poets logo

Old and Young

Homecoming

By Michael J. WinePublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
Old and Young
Photo by John Moeses Bauan on Unsplash

When I come home again

My sadness will be lost

Not. For the miseries of

Youth's passions linger

Do not say, friend, that

Age, or wisdom, or time

Erases the painful consequences of

Springtime's neglect of duty

To be free of this pain

To find rest at last; I long

Free Verse
1

About the Creator

Michael J. Wine

I am a fantasy and science fiction writer, and I also like to write the occasional poem or essay. I aim to make my stories as unique and yet meaningful as I can, and I hope you enjoy them.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Great entry for the inverse! I like how the meaning of the opening completely changes on the re-read “When I come home again My sadness will be lost”, and the tone shifts the other way. Nicely done👏

  • Note: This story has opposite meanings when read top to bottom.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.