Poets logo

"OF SPACE AND TIME I WRITE"

"OF BOTH SIDES NOW OF LIFE"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 3 months ago 2 min read
8

Once upon a time a friend of my youth whispered in my ear my life was clouds of illusion of both sides now. The friend is gone now of long ago. I thought about him and how the song he spoke of to me that day still speaks to me today. I was 17 at that time. I am 74. How did he know? I believe we are reborn throughout and our souls travel in time and space of many realities and into multi-universes of space and time. Perhaps we had met in another lifetime?

What do I write about?

I am blank today.

I hope I do not get writer's block

today

or tomorrow.

Comparisons to others trivial

pursuits

of writing

can expunge me out of the loop.

As I type today,

I remember yesterday,

and beyond the chemistry

of brains of reality

of time and space

as I face

everyday,

every night.

I contemplate

for Pete's sake

I say.

I analyze

the detail

of the story I can tell,

and write through space and time

as I act sublime,

in my younger years of being a free spirit,

as a norm of society I inherit

the free spirit of my soul,

to be bold,

to see through time,

to see through space,

as I step through a decade of a place.

I carried on a conversation of depth,

of my breath,

of love,

or above,

or below,

to live so high, so low.

I look at life from both sides now.

I look myself in the eye,

in the reflection in the mirror.

I ask why,

why do I see a tear

of life?

To be young,

to strive

for perfection coming my way.

There is only a unique character to sway,

to the beat

of the song I say,

in the heat,

in the cold,

in the dark.

I see the light of the fight

of clarity of life

of reflections of strife

of caring too much.

Well, quite a bunch

of lovers and friends of yesterday.

I think of so many today.

I am writing this story

of strife, love and imperfections of glory.

I see both sides now.

I can see the clouds, rainbows, moon, stars, and sun.

I look around and say, "Wow!"

Words of expression move my pen

to write I remember when.

I want to win.

However, my words expand across the page,

to another page

of another decade

of time and space of life on Earth.

I say,

expression,

move your pen,

Type those words of worth

as the dark clouds roll in.

Thunder sparks

lightning

of expressions from birth to death,

to the rebirth of a soul

of old

dreams on a Sunday.

So, I sway

to the stroke of a brush

over the canvas of my story of my life.

I blush.

Should I write of strife,

or out of pain or heartache of a lost love,

or found love?

Alas my pen

says I win

the prize for

the strokes of a crush.

What for?

Because I paint words

of time and space

all over the place,

not swords,

not arrows but in your face

to relate

as an eccentric human being I survive.

Illusions I recall

that is all.

Both sides now of fate,

young,

old,

bold

slate

of time

of late

of a bold old soul.

Written by

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

FEBRUARY 4, 2024

surreal poetryinspirationalFree VerseCONTENT WARNING
8

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • J. Delaney-Howe3 months ago

    Beautiful work!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Oh. This is beautiful. I've been doing a lot of reflecting lately myself. You nailed it.

  • This was amazing it fit the song so well!!! I am completely impressed with this

  • Paul Levinson3 months ago

    Beautiful song, and beautiful .really touching poem and story behind it.

  • Test3 months ago

    "An eloquent reflection on the journey through time, space, and the varied shades of life. The interplay of memories, emotions, and the passage of decades beautifully captured in your words. A poignant exploration of the soul's evolution and the art of self-expression."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.