Poets logo

"RAIN IN THE DESERT"""

"GOOD MORNING UNIVERSE"

By Vicki Lawana Trusselli Published 4 months ago 1 min read
8
IMAGE BY A.I. BING

I woke up today.

This morning I realized

Iam grateful in every way

to write the words in a way

of hearing rain splatter

around the town.

What does it matter?

The plants drink around,

wondering how drunk they are

in this town.

It's raining in Southern California,

today all around

every town,

every city.

What a pity,

but not really

as I drink my coffee,

so warm.

My bird moves around,

bound to her cage.

I burn my sage.

I burn my candle.

I pray to the universe to

thank it for the rain,

that's not in vain

near this desert near LA.

We need rain.

What'd I say

on a rainy day

in the morning way?

I lay here by my PC,

typing away on my phone,

listening to the rain

at my home.

Breathe in.

Breathe out.

We are not alone.

Shout it out!

Written by

VICKI LAWANA TRUSSELLI

FEBRUARY 1, 2024

In a moment

of a thought for the day

What'd I say?

surreal poetrynature poetryinspirationalFree VerseFor Fun
8

About the Creator

Vicki Lawana Trusselli

I worked for the music and film industry in Los Angeles, California and Austin, Texas. I studied nursing, journalism, art, film, and computers in college. I am an empath, Virgo; Leo moon rising, born on the cusp of Libra. Peace Out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred3 months ago

    A beautiful naure poem

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This is beautiful. I love the sound of rain.

  • Grey and rainy days are my favorite days. The sound of rain brings me peace. Maybe it's because I grew up in Northern Oregon and danced in the rain all the time. Wonderful memories of years so very long ago.

  • Test4 months ago

    I love the sentiment of this one Vicki 🤍 The hope and joy in whatever nature chooses to gift us, I just wish we were kinder to it x

  • Good work! I love the way the sound of it moves in my mouth.

  • Test4 months ago

    Well written and love the title. Thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.