Poets logo

Ode to Toilet Paper

All the Ways we’ve Wiped!

By Harmony KentPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
17
Ode to Toilet Paper
Photo by Nik on Unsplash

Definitely preferable to the communal sponge

For which many hands might simultaneously lunge

Then there was the ubiquitous, solid wood stick

A reusable spatula on which we’d wipe our shit

🧻🧻🧻

In more modern times came the printed page

We’d use catalogues in this more enlightened age

Then the publications went for glossies

Much worse than using leaves or mosses

🧻🧻🧻

Finally, along came perforated paper

But the whole business remained a caper

It took 40 years till it came splinter free

Oh me oh my oh me, I’m sure we all agree!

🧻🧻🧻

From stones to sea shells and animal furs

And freezing snow with which to clean our affairs

Then the pandemic showed the world your value

And, sold out, not everyone could have you

🧻🧻🧻

All at once you were on a roll

And prices lost all control

What would we do without you

Oh humble paper for the loo?!

🧻🧻🧻

This is my entry for the Ode to the Ordinary Challenge

(I couldn’t resist the double meaning of ‘on a roll’ 😉)

social commentaryvintagehumor
17

About the Creator

Harmony Kent

The multi-genre author who gets write into your head

I began writing at 40 after a life-changing injury. An avid reader & writer, I love to review & support my fellow authors.

Find Me:

Blog

Story Empire

Amazon Author Page

Twitter

Goodreads

Bookbub

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    LMAO. Nice job. It’s definitely an ordinary thing I take for granted, but wouldn’t want to live without!

  • Robbie Cheadle9 months ago

    HI Harmony, this is hilarious. Fabulous work.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    "On a roll!"🤣 This one is absolutely priceless, Harmony! And now I'm wondering again, how did they actually use the 3 seashells in Demolition Man?

  • Kymber Hawke9 months ago

    This had me rolling and I turned off the TV so I could read it to the mister. LOL He thought it was great, too. xoxo

  • David Prosser9 months ago

    Top hole Harmony. Hugs

  • John W. Howell9 months ago

    Good fun, Harmony

  • Beem Weeks9 months ago

    Thanks for the chuckle, Harmony! You have such a wonderful way with poetic prose!

  • D.L. Finn9 months ago

    Great fun, Harmony. Such a well used item!

  • This is a really good one! I think I learned more than I ever knew about toilet paper...and I didn't need to know about the spatula haha. Great work!

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    I knew this was going to be good when I got the notification and it was! Your ode to the toilet paper is hilarious and a great entry!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    You left out newspaper, did you include bushes and old clothes. Surely there was a better option tha a spatula. uck OMG. Very funny.

  • Sarah Stuart9 months ago

    I thought of the pandemic the minute I saw the title. Sure enough, you evoked the memories of everybody hoarding. :-)

  • Gwen Plano9 months ago

    Very clever! I laughed out loud with this one. Bravo!

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Wonderful!

  • That is both fun and excellent, great take on the challenge

  • Holly Pheni9 months ago

    This is terrific! I giggle-snorted my way through each clever phrase. Really now, what would we do without it? Shit would hit the fan, indeed...🤣

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    I can so get on board with this ode!! Clever, fun and true, loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.