Poets logo

Ode to Teenage Girlhood (Poem)

A Poetic Tribute of Teenage Girlhood

By Muhammad JunaidPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Ode to Teenage Girlhood (Poem)

My girlhood is in

Shredded cuticles

And torn notebook pages

Ballads in my room

Where rituals take place

And the ground is littered in relics

It’s when I’m

Chanting and scheming

Under the cover

Loathing myself until I am

Obsessed with myself

Obsessed with myself until I am my God

Then preparing to detest myself

all over again

Anthemic in essence

I abhor being a teenage girl so much

That I worship it

I despise it with such intensity

That I crave it

The fixation burrows inside of my tissue

And eats away at my flesh

Until I am rotten on the inside

Until I am hollow and filthy

I await adulthood impatiently

Yet I want to remain this way forever

Stained cheeks and sallow eyes

Hot skin and fiery voice

And one day she will be gone

And I will be left to remember her

And in my remembering

I will mourn her over and over again

For her lies and for her golden hair

sad poetrynature poetrylove poemsheartbreakfact or fictionCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Muhammad Junaid

Poetry, short stories, little thoughts, memories, and a lot of things. Thanks for reading my work and please Subscribe for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.