Poets logo

Ode to Soraya:

In Collaboration with Zi Zoe Poet

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
3
Ode to Soraya:
Photo by Charly Pn on Unsplash

Falling in love

with your outlook

Ya’ Aburnee!

( you bury me)

One glance from Soraya

obliges me, omitting

Words to mumble

melody’s to hum

the natural cadence of poetry

Stumbling into

my introverted comfort zone—

Tripping over my two left feet

give and give

And never revive

Ya’ Aburnee!

(You bury me)

Love’s nuances as a noun

doesn’t love me back, as a verb

(I love you) leaves me humbled

though death is becoming,

I’m a hanger-on!

Soraya do not ask for

evidence, evidently, emulous

Like the bullet askance

whose dead mans culprit?

No mirror of perception;

Just a false pretense of passion

Ya’ Aburnee,

(You burry me)

Intending to engrave

your name upon my heart,

PERSPECTIVELY

deathly afraid my heartbeat

would disturb you-

Sorayas’ viewpoint, like a pathway-

Into a land of deviation;

overflowing with words

plunged into palmistry

like a swordfish—

I’d drowned;

in the magic of your eyes...

Even in despair, intrusive thoughts darker than ocean wakes

I, swear

I will not hang myself,

I will not shoot myself

Nor will I throw myself

off a skyscraper

No matter,

how soft clouds appear;

I know batting your lashes

is the fastest

way to commit suicide-

I lack confidence,

fawn over her like a lackey-

LACKADAISICALLY

bespeak Soraya,

for your eyes aren’t a betrayer

Glimpses balm of a healer

Don’t ask me ,

of my homeland

established in the palm of your hand

Let me see them heart lines,

point out every scar

let me know,

WHO I AM!

Do not ask my names origins

as I’ve forgotten the etymology

momentously loving your autonomy

Why is our road so long,

full of thorns?

Why is there a leak of wires between my hand;

instead of my hand in yours?

Ya’ Aburnee!

(you bury me)

If love flows like fears

of missing out

words cramping,

as there written out....

My pens ink would’ve run out,

Our souls give gifts, so Soraya

is my soul sufficient for you?

love poems
3

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.