Poets logo

Ode to Remote Controls

a small things we might take for granted

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Ode to Remote Controls
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

I remember the days when I had to get up

Walk to the TV to change the channel to what I desire

Now I just need to relax, in my hand a cup

And in the other a remote, with it the TV I sire

Convenience beyond a doubt

Truly godly, annoyance without

Just sit back, relax, and on the couch collapse

-

I remember the days when I had to sit close

To the TV, so that my controller cable is connected

And now, with wireless technology I say adios

To constant tugging and wire breaking. Splendid!

Convenience without a doubt

Round the console I walk about

Recline on the chair and from afar just glare

-

I remember the days when I had to walk to the switch

To turn on and off the lights in my flat

Now, on my phone I can simply click and pitch

Darkness ensues, but another click and light is back

Convenience without a doubt

With effort I joust

Just sit and eat, and enjoy this great feat

-

Oh remote, I know you exist for my convenience

But I had never told you how you’re ingenious

To control technology from afar with such accuracy

You’ve changed my life miraculously

Every time I put food on the table and sit on the couch after a long day

I’m glad that you’re there, right next to me you lay

So I don’t have to stand up again to switch on anything

That momentary relaxation is worth everything

I hope you understand your importance to me

---

If you want to see the reply i received from remote controls about this truly heartfelt ode, check it out below:

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Wonderful thing, the remote. Up sides and down sides, love from the weary, and getting fat from the lazy. I don't blame the poor remote though, switch off and take a walk sometimes is all it asks.

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Ahhh, yes! The trusty remote. A well-deserved ode, indeed.

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.