Poets logo

Ode to my Tell-Tale Ears

My true story

By ObyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Ode to my Tell-Tale Ears
Photo by Joeyy Lee on Unsplash

They say “the eyes are the windows to the soul”, Or “you wear your heart on your sleeve”, For me it’s my ears that reveal all, One of my old pet peeves.

My ears are unique you see, Flushing crimson when I’m shy, Burning red with embarrassment , I’ve no idea why.

This isn’t something I can control. In fact, I used to hate, Their scarlet spontaneity, Until they got me a date.

I never mastered the art of flirting, Was always just one of the guys. So you can understand why I was overwhelmed, Talking to the man with hazel eyes.

Jet black hair, leather coat to match, Well-spoken and kind, Yet with a cheeky laddish sense of humour, A man like that is hard to find.

Charming me with his sweet words, The heat rises inside, I feel my ears bloom maroon, A searing fire I cannot hide.

In awe of his beauty, I’m speechless, Drawn to him like a moth to a flame. A flame blazing throughout my ears, I long to see him again.

As a friend of my housemates, This wish of mine comes true, Ears redden with each encounter, There’s nothing I can do!

One day this man professes his love, and knows I like him too! Overjoyed by his confession, I ask him how he knew.

“I’ve always known you liked me, From the moment we first met. Your ears revealed your feelings for me, They’d always turn claret!”

I’m grateful now for what was once a flaw, I love my tell-tale ears, They helped me find the man of my dreams… We’ve been together nearly seven years!

Engaged to be wed in the summer months, You’ve all heard of the blushing bride. Well I’ll be there with ears of pink, Glowing with my pride.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Oby

Writing from the heart, for fun. Thank you to anyone reading my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.