Poets logo

Blue Scrub Soldier

The frontline of Covid

By ObyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Blue Scrub Soldier
Photo by Luke Jones on Unsplash

I’m a blue scrub soldier In a war I didn’t start . I’m a carer not a fighter Less courage, all heart.

On the frontline in ICU, Kitted out in PPE Blue scrubs, mask, and hazmat suit, I’m haunted by what I see.

Young and old on life support, Machines surround each bed, We do our best to keep them breathing, But Covid claims them for dead.

The media call us heroes, But that’s the last thing I am, All I did when the virus hit, Was my job, the best I can.

If anything, I feel a fraud, We could not save them all, People clap to support my efforts, But I fear they were too small.

As Covid infiltrates the wards, Infecting our precious air, I’m terrified I could be next, The dread, I cannot bear.

These dark times are tinged with blue. Blue scrubs and masks and gloves, Feeling blue as we battle on, Losing those I love.

But blue is also the colour of hope, Like the sky after a storm. People are getting better, surviving, As life returns to norm.

I think back to my mother’s words, “Our experiences make us unique”. I’ve lived and learned the truth of this, Though living it makes me weep.

A quiet girl turned blue scrub soldier I’m stronger than I knew, I’ve found a hidden confidence, That shines in me anew.

I’m proud of the woman I have become, I know now that I’m brave, For bravery doesn’t mean feeling no fear, It means not being fear’s slave.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Oby

Writing from the heart, for fun. Thank you to anyone reading my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.