Poets logo

Ode to my Bathtub

2.0

By A.J.K.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Ode to my Bathtub
Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

Thank you, Bathtub.

You, porcelain capsule of daily baptism,

You, water filled sanctuary,

You, warmest hiding place.

Perhaps you are so comforting

Because of how closely

Your watery warmth

Resembles the womb.

Perhaps I revere you so

Because I can still fill you

When I am empty.

You still hold me

when I’m alone.

When I am shaking

From cold

Or underlying panic

You are always there,

Ready to embrace me.

When I am withered from the day

I can adorn you with candles

And turn off the light

And sit until I am replenished.

A place of ritual

On the full moon

Or the black moon

I step into you as I am

And emerge from you anew.

love poems

About the Creator

A.J.K.

Eclectic witch + wine professional living in the PNW. Published poet. Exercising my creative muscles here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • J. Jay2 years ago

    Ah! What a cozy poem! Great job! Good luck with the poetry challenge!

A.J.K.Written by A.J.K.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.