Poets logo

Ode to a Window

Poem about the power of having a view

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2023
23
Ode to a Window
Photo by Rob Wingate on Unsplash

This poem is about my dining room window where I could see close to 2 blocks away up a hill and a corner where traffic and people could go 4 ways.

A room with a window view

As I sit at the dining room table

The window offers a view

I am willing and able

To watch all the scenes that come through

When the school bus on the hillside stops

I know I have seven or eight minutes

Before it comes down from the top

And I have to get into it

I see my cousin's boyfriend's car

After school heading to her home

My best friend's dad has walked so far

From the store and he's all alone

My brother's buddy is coming near

I tell him to go outside

He meets him with a hearty cheer

Their bikes they soon will ride

My neighbor pulls up in his carport

Children gather around to play

He is such a good sport

Though he's worked hard that day

All these things I see

From my window seat

Wind in the cherry tree

A dog running across the street

The window gives me a view

Of what others do not see

The special sights so real and true

Are only just for me

surreal poetry
23

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Joelle E🌙10 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful. I think the simplicity makes it all the more moving. Great poem ❤️✨

  • Joe Luca10 months ago

    Windows are interesting things. When I lived in England I would look out of windows that were 600 years old, onto trees that were just a little younger, and would wonder - how many people have sat here? How many lives came and went as that tree grew? How many tears were shed, joys began, and lives made better by both the view and the moment of calm spent looking out that window? Nice poem 💚

  • Rui Alves10 months ago

    Beautiful piece!

  • Jazzy 10 months ago

    Congrats on TS! And I loved this, what a wonderful pastime!!! I would never stop watching!

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Very nice! Congratulations!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Congratulations!! 🎊

  • Chloe Gilholy10 months ago

    Great poem about a window, love the symbolism.

  • Windows mean so much not only in life but also literature. What a wonderful subject for an ode. Lovely poem!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Beautiful. Well done and congrats on the TS

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    I loved the comforting feel of this poem. Well done! And congrats!

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is a wonderfully written poem. I could feel the calm that that window view brings to your soul. Very well done and congrats on the Top Story.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Beautifully written!!! It's a window to the world!!! Your own reality show looking out your window!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I would love to seat at your window 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.