Poets logo

Ocean Springs ICU

a poem

By Mark BurrPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ocean Springs ICU
Photo by Natanael Melchor on Unsplash

Ocean Springs ICU

I remember holding my fathers hand

As he lay dying

I thought he was dying

He was dying, for sure he was dying

A dead man, I held his hand

And said, the most honest words of my life

And prayed without ceasing

Not even when my grip was too tight

There was no too tight, I had to hold on tight

Or daddy would slip away

Into the night, the world of shadow and shade

I held on tight. Too tight.

His IV came undone. Like me.

His blood spilled on the sheets. Like me.

Little specks of bright bright blood orange

The same blood in me.

Little poppy seeds, as red as the crimson sea

The nurses watched and turned their heads

My aunt and uncle couldn’t look me in the eye

I was stoned, I was high, I was numb

But through it all

I held on tight, despite all that

And prayed without ceasing

And now

He’s alive.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mark Burr

Mark Burr is a poet from Ocean Springs MS. He was last published in Prairie Schooner. He is currently working on a chapbook. He also writes short stories and takes cool pictures with his camera.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.