Poets logo

Compare Destiny

a ghazal

By Mark BurrPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Compare Destiny
Photo by Viva Luna Studios on Unsplash

Compare Destiny

it is said that in the stars a map exists, when I finally found you.

a record in Heaven, our souls on a list, when I finally found you.

my modest mother sang to me that the stars were once pieces of lovers.

only night could grant their wish to coexist, when I finally found you.

the goddess of the moon turned a dead man into stars and vowed to never

love again (and so did I), a parting gift, when I finally found you.

and the question the alchemist asked me in the white desert, the secret

nobody knows, was then answered when we kissed, when I finally found you.

and you knew why the Death card can mean Rebirth (my laurel, I’m your Wheel of Fortune, I’m your heartsick Hermit set adrift), when I finally found you.

and the heart of hearts, the soul of souls, the breath of God, fell all around

us, as the sky turned from blue to whiskey mist, when I finally found you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Mark Burr

Mark Burr is a poet from Ocean Springs MS. He was last published in Prairie Schooner. He is currently working on a chapbook. He also writes short stories and takes cool pictures with his camera.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.