Poets logo

O'Clock She Comes

a poem

By Ward NorcuttPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
O'Clock She Comes
Photo by Daniel Born on Unsplash

My stomach churns as your dappled ray heats

my doubled sauna back, my neck, my head.

Relentless, grinding, twisting me it beats

my heart as well, 'til I am nearly dead.

....

Comfort for such as me is just a dream

that I dare not close either eye to see.

For when I do, it's only you agleam,

pounding your granite fists on little me.

....

But time wheels on and you fall from your grace,

for even you cannot escape your fate.

As I endure our never-ending race,

a rat I am; I bide my time and wait.

....

O'clock she comes, her gift my sweet respite,

my darling, tender sweet, my gentling night.

vintage
2

About the Creator

Ward Norcutt

Playwright and poet.

My goal as a writer is to write thoughtful pieces of prose, poetry and stage plays. Hopefully, the end results are entertaining and engaging, with layers of meaning that make sense to the whole or a theme therein.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • lyle n2 years ago

    the first two lines...there's no escape for the speaker, it still finds him through the shade. and it is singular - specific, as if it is focussed on only him. it hits his head and neck and back doubled(over?) he is inundated - whelmed...this is quitethe start to a short epic piece..and the last two lines!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Beautiful language. I loved the last two lines so much :) What a talent you have with words.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Very nice. Bring on the night.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.