Poets logo

Nurture?

the process of caring for and encouraging the growth or development of someone or something

By Joni ÉcritPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1
Nurture?
Photo by insung yoon on Unsplash

my mother sees me

as a friend to gossip with

a little sister to share a wardrobe

a rival for anyone's attention

but never as a daughter

nothing she was responsible for

not a child that needed nurture

not a friend

a sister

a rival

i see my mother

for the friend she never got to be

the big sister she was

a broken woman with too much rage for one

brewing beneath the striped sweater

she borrowed from me

years ago

my mother sees me

how she wishes me to be

how she wishes she could be

how she could've been

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    It's like she's living vicariously through you. It's so sad that she couldn’t live how she wanted to.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.