Poets logo

Bloodlines

a poem about being comfortably uncomfortable

By Joni ÉcritPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Bloodlines
Photo by Andrew Seaman on Unsplash

When I stand

the world spins

So, still, I sit

and I listen

I close my eyes

til' I can't stand it

Do I run

Would it be a sin

to run

Until I am spent

It won't be long

before I miss

Miss to stand

Miss to sit

Looking at my hands

The lines a map of something

I don't know about

I've been told

it isn't in my blood

to run

to fly

it is to sit

to stand

to cry

but my feet scream

'go'

sad poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test8 months ago

    This was so wonderful! Loved your poem!

Joni ÉcritWritten by Joni Écrit

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.