Poets logo

Noxious Flower

Polar Opposite Love

By Daniel Freeman Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Noxious Flower
Photo by Carlos Quintero on Unsplash

When my petals are gloved

Someone gets my knife’s fatal kiss

Don't they want to feel loved

Don’t they want a romantic bliss

//

Ugh, I hate the smell of metal.

My knife has kisses spread

Over its edge where they settle.

I can’t afford more red.

//

Man, woman, doesn’t matter

They can all share my loving dreams

Why do loved ones scatter

I only want to hear their screams

//

Their screams flail in my melted ears,

Screams I can’t get rid of.

Her “kisses” invoke immense fear.

Scars are what she calls love.

//

I give my friends care from above

Kissing beyond the bone

Even if they don’t give me love

I’ll give some of my own

//

To a degree, it’s true

What they think. I did it.

But I never wanted to do

Something so barbaric.

//

They retreat back to shade

When I do what they did to me

Fleeing my red-drenched blade

It’s my form of love, don’t you see

//

It dries. I see it all

On my soaked knife and gloves,

The souvenirs she stole from all

Those who she says she loves.

//

Now I can look at them close up

Those I loved and care for

Their love for me is drying up

It’s time for them to give me more

//

It doesn’t last very long.

It dries up, and she wants more.

It always feels so wrong,

But I can’t stop her lust for gore.

//

Looking at it I remember

How much they all love me

That’s why I return the favor

Now everyone is happy

//

Each stroke hurts me as well.

When she stabs them, I feel it, too.

Every scar burns like Hell,

But there’s nothing I can do.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Freeman

A friend accidentally got me into writing, and now I can't stop

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.