Poets logo

Now I see.

May I never stop burning.

By On the edge of consciousnessPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

And like a Phoenix, from the ashes I will rise;

And in the pit of my darkness, I looked within and found you.

I looked at you, really looked at you.

I quieted the loud noise; the judgements, the critical mind in which I had identified with.

I became the observer and contemplated you.

I felt your fear, I felt your pain, I felt your child.

I felt your desperation to protect me, the loneliness which you inhabited.

I Inhaled and exhaled and embraced it all.

I began to understand. I began to see.

And through that you broke free which in turn broke me free.

I recognised our separateness, our oneness.

Me and you. Me, you.

You, Me. You and me.

I love you.

And there was a spark.

And our spark ignited, arose from our pit of darkness and lit up our spirit.

It made it's way through our heart and filled the cracks with it's flames.

All that was broken, all that was lost, all that was dead, all that I thought could never be found again.

Or at least everything I thought that I, what I identified to be myself would not be able to find or revive again.

All of it, set on fire.

And it was because of our dwelling in darkness that I could see the spark.

It is only in that darkness that light is found.

The fire had always been there, it just needed to be acknowledged, it needed to be seen.

It needed awareness.

And it is through that awareness that I see.

It is through that awareness that all which felt broken was rearranged.

Rearranged into love itself, right in front of my self, now laced in gold, submerged in it's fire.

I looked into the eyes of the sphinx, mesmerised, I became it.

Look into my eyes. What do you see?

Fire.

And it's through the fire that I see.

I am the spark.

I am the fire.

I am.

And now I contemplate, I observe, I truly see.

And the more my simulation dismantles, the more I decide.

That I never stop burning.

That my soul and spirit continue to burn for eternity.

May I never stop burning.

May the ashes overflow around me.

The ashes surrounding my idea of self.

The idea that I had of who I am, the perception of my self.

The one I created a long time ago.

The one I reinforced time and time again.

Just like the fabrics I wear on my skin, they slip off.

I perceive.

I am the fire.

I am the ashes.

And it's because of the ashes that I burn.

It's because of the ashes that I become.

Now when I gaze, I see you, I see me.

I see strength, I become it.

I see will. I am it.

I understand now that I couldn't see before.

Because I tried to comprehend.

I couldn't see because when I tried to see I let my eyes look.

I believed my eyes.

Now I apprehend.

I see now because I know that I do not see with my eyes.

But that it is through the eyes that I see.

I become apprehension itself.

Now I don't try to hear with my ears but I listen through my ears, with my spirit.

The message is no longer corrupted or hidden.

And through all of that I find it all.

All which was never separate.

All which was never lost.

The fire and the ashes, they both become one.

And like a phoenix, from the ashes, I rise.

love poems
1

About the Creator

On the edge of consciousness

Welcome to my world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.