Poets logo

Nothing Like Chippies To Me (Dedicated to the Memory of My Loving Mom Vera)

By: Carlton A. Armistad

By Andrew LittlePublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
Photo Courtesy of Andrew Smith at The Jamaican Gleaner, Kingston, Jamaica; Jan-2017

1.

Fried green Banana slices, lightly salted and fried thin

To make sure every bite tastes right, and every bite a scrumptious win

We Jamaicans are very choosey, when it comes to snacks

What we like, is what We like and that is just that

2.

Chippies Banana Chips wasn't to everyone's taste

Which meant more Me and less for them, as I would not, nay could not let any go to waste

Goodness and health flowed from the green banana plant, top to bottom

Possessing spiritual healing properties to make what was dead, come back more powerful an strong

Jamaican children were never forced to snack healthy, fresh fruit and nice tings like Chippies we had a plenty

Little fingers clasped tight to mother's beautiful dress, as we stopped in National's Bakery Shop, some supplies to get.

3.

On a 4 tier metal shop rack, my eagle eyes located my favorite snack

6 packets, 7 packs; I didn't want to leave any on the rack

Bartered with my Mommy, who allowed me to have 10

I'd have to sweep the yard, and be on my best behavior if I wanted to come here again

Sneaking a bag from the Kitchen as I was heading off to bed

Led to me in my sleep, running up a hill so steep, from armed Banana Chips Men.

4.

To think that something so natural and cultural still to this day; makes my mouth water

Salted Banana Chips, served Ital, no dips, brings the smell of Home to a brotha

Mom washing my long curly black hair and ensuring the home-made aloe- vera treatment went every where

Nostalgia is a hell-of-a-path to walk, but nothing like Chippies brings the remanence of Home, Love & Family back

Like Chippies Banana Chips; my favorite childhood snack.

The End.

Proselove poemsFriendshipFamily
2

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Are these similar to plantain chips? Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.