Poets logo

Note to sunshine

at your doorstep

By Hajeong SongPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ogunquit Doorway by Abbott Fuller Graves

Had I not praise your ray until it's grey

Should you nod your head until it hurts

The glorious pain into my eyes, every morning

Makes my youth eternal and spotless mind

That I was given, soaked into scarlette wine

I call your name on the horizon out of the blue

Waving in the air, when I am gullible

Good Samarians preach 'Blame no one'

Sailing in the ark with the broken top

I pig out in the closet, I want no one

I lay out all my forgotten prayers

Let me be the ash where you at

For the dark slaughters me into odd pieces

I am no one

Around the corner of the noon, one shiny day

Your glorious pain broke my silence

Reminiscing of you in early May

Promise you gave me over the moon

Rested my feet and burnt my wings

'Do not be Icarus when you are low'

Dead tree bark crumbling down

Bite-size marks crawling down

The tree merged into your ray, heard

'Your seasons will come'

Running on the edge of the winter

Legs freeze on the icy fear

A strand of your ray walked me your way

In the end, here I say

Mom, I'm home

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Hajeong Song

Anything spread-worthy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.