Poets logo

Not Without My Muse

Sorry, Not Sorry, I'm New At Stalking

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
8
Not Without My Muse
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I'm afraid I've become quite the stalker

chasing down all the words you might use

It may come to you as a slight shocker

but I think you have become my muse

I scavenge your words like a vulture

saving every last scrap like a prize

Then I harvest it like agriculture

to display something new for your eyes

I've avoided revealing my secret

for your words are not solely for me

So, to save any misstep or regret

I keep them safe in a reliquary

For to me your words have become sacred

this holy sacrifice I lay at your feet

This poem for you, I've created

to make my "stalkery" complete

love poemshumorFirst Draft
8

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    Recalling an old Valentine's Day card I once gave to Robin Holman back in the third grade (how can I remember that when I can't remember why I just entered the room?--the card said, "Yukon touch noses with me if you want to. I don't mind."): As I've oft said to the celery, "I don't mind if you stalk me." Yeah, yeah, I get that you're writing about somebody else, lol. I'd actually have to write something for anyone to stalk my words.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oooo, I never knrw what reliquaries were until today. Loved your poem!

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    Aren't all writers kind of stalkers in a way. We read somebody's work that gives us new ideas for us.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Lyrical and fun!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatárabout a month ago

    I love your poem, the musicality and the hidden notes 💕😊🌸

  • ROCK about a month ago

    Kelli my muse and yours have something going down; best we figure this **** out before they take over, lol!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Oh my, I love the play with words in this poem ❤️❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.