Poets logo

Not The Furniture Store

By Ikea Williams

By Keys WillPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Not The Furniture Store
Photo by Francesca Tosolini on Unsplash

I never liked my name

I’m not sure if it’s the name itself,

or the way I sound saying it

But one thing I love is the way it looks in cursive

The way the capital “I” takes a different form

It transforms

Like how the blue summer sky becomes a black abyss at night

I like the way my name is short and sweet

Like Smurfs if they were real beings

My name is unforgettable

To be imprinted on minds and hearts forever

I often say, “My mother knew what she was doing when she named me” despite how ridiculous it sounded when she told me how she decided on it

“One day I was flipping through the Ikea catalog while pregnant with you and my water broke”

I thought it was ridiculous at first, like “Thank God it wasn’t Target!”

or that she had decided on Chinese food to satisfy a craving and had the menu in hand

But then, I began to view it differently

I thought, “That’s actually powerful”

Like I had chosen my own name

Like I had claimed my identity and demanded to make it known

So, there’s no one to blame for my having to endure the inevitable stupidity that comes along with a name like Ikea

Upon introduction, I waste no time beating you to the punch by saying “Yes, like the furniture store”

The yellow and blue logo match my aura but I am not the owner, just a supporter

Do not ask me if anything is on sale this week or if you can get a discount

Don’t ask me why your order hasn’t been delivered yet or why it takes so long

Don’t ask me why the furniture is so difficult to assemble

And don’t, DO NOT ask me if I’m Swedish

I remember my 7th grade math teacher

She called me “furniture store” the entire school year

And by then my skin was pretty thick so I took no offense nor was I embarrassed

I understood nicknames to be a form of endearment and accepted it as such

People often ask if my name means something

After several Google searches, it turns out the dyslexic founder created the acronym for coding purposes

So in other words, it’s meaningless

But I, personified, am meaningful

I am a force to be reckoned with

Like the ocean amid a storm

I am short and sweet and unforgettable like the letters of my name

I am to be imprinted on minds and hearts forever

I am furniture that was assembled piece by piece with an instruction manual that makes no sense

But, I still managed to put myself together

I still don’t have a blues clue as to how

I am the epitome of DIY

I am very reasonable and aesthetically pleasing

I am not for sale and my worth cannot be discounted

You can track me all day but there’s no telling when I’ll arrive

My name is not ordinary like an “Ashley” or a “Tiffany”

And no offense to Ashley and Tiffany,

But how many Ikea’s do you know?

My mother knew what she was doing when she named me

She prophetically chose my destiny

Now everyone will know that I was here

And you will never forget me

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Keys Will

Poetry is my first love, my first language! With 20+ years on this poetic journey as a Spoken Wordsmith, Lyricist and published author, I enjoy sharing my gift with the world and digesting the messages crafted by fellow poets.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.