Poets logo

Not Stupid

Naw

By ROCK Published 3 months ago 1 min read
11
Not Stupid
Photo by Hunter Newton on Unsplash

I ain't, ya'll. That's what you think. Ain't is somethin' we create? ME is underneath a heavy cover, a sweet retreat from your discomfort. Naw, ya'll are always down, seein' me with your jaded brow; where do I belong in your white ass dreams, layin' low, to be unseen? Ever stray to wonder why a black kid feels a little shy? I shine, I shine; OH, how Momma sees me shine. I sit waitin' for the bus, after seein' my therapist; cops are called 'cause I am readin' 'bout the struggle and am grieving. I am BLACK, I am BROWN, I am whatever ya'll puttin' down. I am GAY, I am kind, you won't see ME with your dull eyes. I'd give up if it weren't for hope; Momma's love is my antidote; SHE don't give up on me, even if society....don't let me SHINE, SHINE, SHINE.

sad poetryProseMental HealthFree Verse
11

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Extremely well done. I had some inner city black rappin' youth in our youth group back in Kansas City who would have been really down with your style. And they'd have loved the way you lift up Momma, who tended to be the backbone of their families.

  • J3 months ago

    I've been a big fan of your writing so far, but you lost me with this one, unfortunately. I know it came from a place of good intentions, but the best way to amplify black voices is to listen to them and support black artists, not use your idea of them as a caricature to raise your own voice. Read books written by black women. Watch their shows, listen to their music. Do not try to mimic them through the lens of your own perspective. It's harmful, not helpful. I do say this with love, and hope you understand my words are not intended to hurt you. I'm just trying to help you see this situation from a different perspective.

  • This was so freaking powerful! I loved it!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler3 months ago

    ROCK, this is daring and really well done. Often, we are told not to try to write about people whose pain we haven't felt because of society's prejudices, but I think you captured it beautifully.

  • Great stuff, Rock. Society will try to convince some that they don't fit in, that they don't shine, but Momma is right. Shine!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I hope she feels scope to get to know herself underneath that cover! This was great.

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    There's such a sad ache to this but also a blaze of anger that anyone is treated this way. Powerful and painful, both.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.