Poets logo

Not One Passion

A poem by me, originally published in the Medium publication Dead Poets Live.

By Abby SiegelPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Marcello Aquino on Unsplash

why is everyone designated only one passion

one job, one determination

the musician is a musician and will be for life

even though she loves to paint and write corny poetry

she’s still only a musician to everyone else

a facet she grows to detest

we have one life it is true

but one life is not singular

a brain is not linear but full of twists and turns

to assign a mind one way is to erase a person

give me, a single Jack, all of the trades my little heart can carry

I will not tread the tight rope of society’s demands

but swing off to the branches of other trees

that bear different and fulfilling fruits

~~~~~~~~~~

©Abigail Siegel, 2021

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Abby Siegel

Currently a grad student in classics researching Latin poetry as well as myth and folklore. I write poetry most of the time, and I am working on my first poetry collection. I also write book reviews and other blog pieces.

Buy me a coffee

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.