Poets logo

Not Having It All

A longer poem

By Nicole CPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Not Having It All
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Do most humans have a fear of success?

Are we reluctant to step up, level up, jump

Outside of our comfort zones? Even if the

The comfort is a mess?

I’m where I’m at now, and it’s okay.

It’s not “as good” as it could be… but I am,

Overall, relatively speaking, okay.

It could be better… it could be way worse.

What am I grateful for?

My family, my friends - these usual

Comforts. Would they change, if I were

To succeed? Would my family dynamics

Change? Would my friendship dynamics

Change? (Oh, yes, they certainly would).

Not only subtle power dynamics and

Micro-hierarchies, but also people’s

True colours.

If I won the lottery, right now, this

Very minute. Who would I dare tell?

Would I tell them the full Truth of it?

Would I let them know, “Oh, I won a small

Raffle, a couple of thousand dollars” so then

I could at least treat my family to a high end

Dinner, or even a family getaway?

I would need to pay off all my debts. Clear

The credit cards, the micro-lenders, the

University fees. Clear all that out from

My financial peripheries.

Buy a new car? People would notice.

Is there even a fear of people judging me

For having “too nice” of a new car?

If I won the lottery, if sudden wealth entered

Into my life, right now. In the next 24 hours

⁃ how would I handle that?

All of the above, plus buy a property.

As that is, evidently, a sensible investment.

Buy some Crypto? Buy some NFTs?

If I won the lottery, maybe.

Donate to charities? Not yet, or maybe some.

Divide that up for some regular

Direct debiting.

I would hire someone else

To manage my money for me, yes. Because

I would fear that I don’t have these

Qualifcations to know how to truly manage

Very large sums of money.

The house that I know now,

Would it no longer exist? The Feng Shui would

Have had to change so significantly.

It could no longer exist. It would have to be

Torn down, rebuilt, or sold. Let it go.

Are we ready for that change?

Are we really ready for a new phase?

I don’t know why I had a subconscious

Anchor about my current reality.

Too comfortable in the discomfort.

Not truly ready for a new reality.

social commentary

About the Creator

Nicole C

Writing sporadically... I tried some challenges but never won anything. Sometimes my poetry helps me process whatever has been going on... sometimes it is pure fiction. Sometimes I like to write about pop culture and astrology.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Amazing. I spend a lot of time thinking about these things, and here you have perfectly put them into words. I think life often becomes chaotic for me when I get too comfortable, and I’m starting to just go with that.

Nicole CWritten by Nicole C

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.