Poets logo

'Not green'

#poem-mostly-every-day

By Heather HublerPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
10
Created with NightCafeStudio

~

She sits in her silence

A million thoughts buzzing about

The rain tapping out a lonely lullaby

But one scrap of truth screams

for her attention–

Ghost

She fights to ignore its meaning

Shrugging off the chill down her spine

Avoiding the mirror down the hall

If she looks...

Whose haunted reflection will stare back?

Will there be anything to see at all?

Phantom

Neither here nor there

Living but not living

In this world, she's measured by her acts of service, her ability to make things special, run smoothly, fix it all

Yet in return, she fades more and more each day

Not enough returned back to the well

She's bleeding dry

Figment

Maybe she's never been real at all

Just a trick of the light, an answer to one of life's anomalies

Forever purple

'Not green'

____________________________________________________

Thank you as always for taking a chance on my work!

This was inspired by a video I ran across today that reminded me of the theory that technically the color purple (magenta specifically) doesn't truly exist. It's our brains' fabricated answer to the space on the light spectrum where green should be when viewing red and blue together, so 'not green'. I always found this fascinating. Give it a Google :)

Mental Healthnature poetryFree Verse
10

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk8 days ago

    That is fascinating about the color magenta. Or is it green?? But I do love your poem. I think we all feel like we are invisible at times. Or people just want to see us in the light that they want to.

  • Cathy holmes9 days ago

    The poem is great, the afterward is fascinating. I had not heard that before.

  • Gina C.10 days ago

    Whoa! The poem itself is amazing; the author's note is so interesting to me! Specifically because I've been watching color theory videos on how CMY (cyan, magenta, and yellow) are the real primary colors and are beginning to replace RBY. So if magenta doesn't exist, I feel like that might throw that whole theory for a loop. 😅

  • D.K. Shepard10 days ago

    Thanks for providing the explanation of the "not green" so I could admire how brilliant of a line it is! Loved the italic lines that interwoven a connected thread

  • Dana Crandell10 days ago

    Imagine how difficult it is for those of us who are red-green color blind.

  • "The rain tapping out a lonely lullaby" I liked that.

  • "Not enough returned back to the well She's bleeding dry" At this point I have the feeling that you're spying on me because those lines are how I feel right now. Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Oh, I believe purple exists, it is my favorite color and look at amethysts!! Loved your poem and the segments of it.

  • Hannah Moore11 days ago

    I couldn't quite make sense of it, but the authors note clarified - and fascinated!

  • Grz Colm11 days ago

    Yo! My first initial thought was she really wanted to watch ‘Ghost’ the movie as you had it italicised 😅 and I also rewatched it a couple of weeks ago. I love your inspiration for this piece as I’d never heard of that before. Green is often associated with ghosts I think or the otherworldly. I must sleep now I’m rambling! 😴 Have an A OK day!

  • our eyes don't see much and the missing bits are filled in by our brains, excellent words

  • Kendall Defoe 11 days ago

    I'd like to see the video...

  • Matthew Fromm11 days ago

    I appreciate learning something new today! Now to go down the purple rabbit hole….

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.