Poets logo

Not Going To Stop Me

25th June 2024

By Carol TownendPublished 7 days ago 1 min read
Not Going To Stop Me
Photo by Marcela Laskoski on Unsplash

Sore throat go away,

Bad cough, please piss off!

I have waited too long for this,

And our Anniversary is on the same day,

So, as bleary-eyed as you want to make me,

It will take more than that for you to stop me!

So, sore throat go away,

As for that bad cough;

You won't ruin my day!

I have written this poem as I sit here coughing with a sore throat while hoping and praying that I will get better for the 25th of June 2024.

On that date, I and my husband will be celebrating our 25th Anniversary, and there is no better way to celebrate than heading to see Pink and The Script along with many other brilliant artists at the Summer Carnival in Liverpool.

I have worked hard on my mental health to be able to attend this carnival, and I have had to put some backup DBT tools in place so that I can try and handle any PTSD triggers that might occur while I am there.

I am working on getting better so that I can see two of my important heroes in music and my continued recovery.

Two heroes who have always helped me to stay strong, even when I haven't felt like I could do it, through their music.

Two heroes, I have desperately wanted to meet and see in a very long time.

Let's hope my body gets the message because nothing is going to stand in my way!

social commentaryFree Verse

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • L.C. Schäfer7 days ago

    Happy anniversary for the 25th!

  • Kageno Hoshino7 days ago

    Happy Anniversary in advance!

  • shanmuga priya7 days ago

    Advance anniversary wishes 💖. Wish everything will be fine...Be happy ....I liked your poem.

  • fantastic story. congratulation on TS. and hope you feel better soon oh and happy anniivesary

Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.