Poets logo

(no title) still

Things in the incubator

By Rachel DeemingPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
8
(no title) still
Photo by Kelli McClintock on Unsplash

When I open the box

You are sitting there,

Crouched,

Raggéd.

You peer at me,

Hopeful:

Eyes squinting

Vulnerability plain

As I scan you.

I need to finish you.

But

I don't have time

For you

Today.

And so, I close the lid.

The light recedes

And you stew once more.

I quash the guilt.

I will let you emerge.

Just

Not yet.

Then, I will name you.

***

It's weird the way I feel about the drafts' section on my Vocal account. This is the second time that I have felt the need to express my feelings about seeing all of those stories listed (no title) every time I go into my profile.

The link to the first one is below:

I feel palpable guilt when I leave them and I am not sure why. Sometimes, I toy with deleting them so that they are not sitting there waiting but, if I take the time to read them, I am struck by their potential and can't let them go. But then, another challenge comes along or something outside of my Vocal sphere intervenes and the stories have to patiently wait until I return, who knows when.

So, I decided the best thing to do in the meantime is to dedicate something to them, some writing, a poem. The irony is not lost on me, believe me but I will return to them and writing always makes me feel better. And then, hopefully the universe will let them know that they are not forgotten and are valued in some small way.

***

Please drop a comment as I love to interact with my readers. And thanks awfully for stopping by!

inspirationalsurreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    Feel this so much, Rachel! My WIPs, even the wickedly dark and awful evil ones...are my babies. And there are some that I leave off finishing, because I know, or sense, to get them to the way I want them to match how they are in my head, will take longer than I have. Some, come quicker. But, there have been, since my time on Vocal, ones that will stay in my WIPs folder on my computer for months. This was wonderfully expressed. Well done!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Kelsey Clarey8 months ago

    Oh, I know this feeling way to well! There are far too many things in my drafts or on my works in progress list.

  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Hi RD - How fun would it be to have 'Who Chose the Best Title Contest.' As most of us I may 'percolate' over just the title of a piece for days ~ And don't get me started on how much I 'Stew' over subtitles. I think it may have something to do with not being able to edit them once they are down. Not a 'contest-guy' JB

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    I have almost more pieces in drafts than actually published! 😉 That is a bit of a joke tbh! Like life though ..it’s like I’m waiting for some perfect day of perfect health and harmony to do that thing that I’ve been meaning to do! 😅😁 I liked your little poem!! And the write up at the end. I couldn’t help but think of gremlins for some reason ( the movie) as you were personifying the drafts …or whatever it is called when you give something animal characteristics. So basically all your pieces are animals and they need to be nurtured so I hope they can eventually see the light of day! ⛅️ 😊👍

  • Awww, you're like the sweetest person ever! You feel so bad for all the stories and poems sitting in your drafts to the extent you wrote a poem for them! If that ain't sweet, I don't know what is! Also, please be kind and gentle with yourself. There's just so much that we can do. You are amazing!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    I love this! Its great writing, but I also love that process of paying homage to your own little embryonic morsels. I feel like that's somehow also respecting yourself and seeing your own worth. I evidently wrote very differently, I have no drafts, I'm one hit and done. Obviously life interferes, and then I might have one draft for a wee while. But on the flip side, I let ideas pass and then feel irked that I lost them because I didn't have time when they were conceived.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.