Poets logo

No Rescue From Tomorrow

Alone with her heartbreak

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 2 min read
4
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I watch as she lifts her glass to her lips, closing her eyes,

As she tastes the sublime icy cold liquor that races down her throat,

She opens her eyes and feels my gaze upon her beauty,

Turning her head, giving me a sad nod, her eyes terribly remote.

***

She turns back to the bar, to saviour her drink,

Lost in her brokenness, her sad thoughts,

I guarantee she’s here to escape her man and his treatment,

His cruelty is what would have seen this melancholy wrought.

***

I feel her sorrow, her pain, from across the room,

Deciding to approach her and offer her some solace,

She shakes her head at me as I take the stool by her side,

I ignore this head shake and take my place.

***

“I’m not another guy trying to pick you up,”

I explain as I sit,

“I can see your pain and let me guess, it’s caused by a man,”

“You’d guess right,” she spit.

***

“I saw you sitting staring at your drink, waiting for your ice to melt,”

I say, “And please let me tell you, you don’t need that guy,”

I silently wait to see how she’d react to that,

But instead she breathes deep and lets out an agonising sigh.

***

She looks me in the eye, smiling a little wider,

And to my surprise she introduces herself to me,

Telling me that I got that right,

She’s planning on setting him free.

***

As the night wears on, the drinks too many to count,

Her smile grows wider, her words happier, he’s been forgotten,

However, in the back of her eyes I can still see the sorrow,

But for these few hours I helped her not to feel so rotten.

***

We both know it’s a temporary respite,

She’ll feel the heartbreak fully tomorrow,

And she’ll be alone, no guy sitting on the other side of the room,

Worried about her mood, her pain and her sorrow.

This poem was inspired by a Keith Urban song titled ‘Blue Ain’t Your Colour’

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

heartbreaksad poetry
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    I liked this a lot! A lot of people go through this!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great. I could feel her pain and his empathy. Well done.

  • Awww, that guy was so sweet! I hope for her to get away from her guy as fast as possible. Loved your poem my friend!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.