Poets logo

No Other Place

Dancing with Distraction challenge

By Luke FosterPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
20
No Other Place
Photo by lauren lulu taylor on Unsplash

Do it now!” I tell myself, “How often do you get this opportunity?”

I’ll just stick some TV on, I need the background noise, you see.”

So I’ve been flicking through for five minutes, whatever will my choices be?”

Too many options, can’t concentrate, so comfort shows on my TV.”

Ready to begin, my laptop opens “Cree-hee-hee.”

A cry, laptop down, up the stairs, one, two, three.”

Could have got work done, but my girl, who will be,”

Two, just next month, she requires me.”

“I take her to the park, down the slides, she yells “Whee!”

Oh, missed opportunity, but don’t lament, because you see,”

No other place in the world, would I rather be.

------------------

This was written for the "Dancing with Distraction" challenge, to write an acrostic poem spelling the word "Distraction."

Spending time with my daughter is the best and most important thing that I do, I try to make time for my hobbies, but she will always come first.

love poems
20

About the Creator

Luke Foster

Father. New husband. Wannabe writer.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Nice

  • Giulia Viti10 months ago

    This is so lovely!!

  • Abigail Penhallegon11 months ago

    This is really sweet, I was expecting a procrastination or negative distraction kind of story and instead, the twist was so positive and lovely!

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    I love that you are writing about your relationship with your daughter!

  • Absolutely wonderful ❤️🥹

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Lovely poem!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is so sweet. Well done

  • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

    So good!! And so sweet ❣️

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Heartwarming!!! Loved this!!!♥️💖💕

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Ahh, I felt this one so much. They are the best times in the world :) Beautiful work.

  • great work and great challenge entry

  • Ahna Lewis11 months ago

    Enjoyed this one, Luke! Especially the last line "No other place in the world, would I rather be."

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    This spot on Luke 😎 excellent poem.

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    I LOVE IT AMAZING!!!

  • Well done, Luke. I love the poem. It is also nice to see someone who has his priorities in order. ;)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.