Poets logo

No More Wedding Bells

Or Even Wedding Vows.

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
No More Wedding Bells
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

I can be your friend.

Yet I cannot make it to the end.

Nor can I take vows of love and hope.

Being alone is how I cope.

No more wedding bells.

No more wedding vows.

I cannot promise you. that I will ever say I do.

I have seen so many marriages fall apart.

No communication, just a crushing heart.

As years go by, living together seems to be the way.

Temptation, mental health but most of all, a broken heart.

No one wants to work hard on relationships these days.

It is much easier for many to go their separate ways.

There are still a few.

That love conquers all, in everything they do.

Yet there are many that should never wed.

Ideas of marriage, but not happily ever after should be said.

Take a break, not run away.

If you love someone, work hard at it every day.

Marriage is a commitment between two.

Working together, common interests, fun in what you do.

Nothing is easy in life, we all know that.

Yet Love Is Forever After, that is a true fact.

Take a time out.

Not fight and shout.

If you know it is not meant to be.

Walk away and let the other be free.

To find what the true meaning of love can be.

Trust me I know, he is living with me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.