Poets logo

Nimbus

Nimbus: luminous cloud; halo; encircling light

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 28 days ago Updated 12 days ago 1 min read
9
Photo: Pixabay

Eleanor, our lunar moth, with crescent smile and book in hand,

Climbs up into my lap. I read to her, then once more with the silly voice.

"Lully!" she demands, bright face upturned. Swinging her into my arms, crooning and swaying,

I dance with her around the room, then set her in her little bed. Lights out. Nearly to the door---

Plaintive comes the cry: "Lully? More lully?" Sighing, I sink to her side.

Soft and slow I sing of soaring over fields as gentle darkness descends.

Eleanor's lashes flutter. The full moon crowns her with a nimbus brighter than any sun.

Free Verselove poemsFamily
9

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶22 days ago

    Very sweet poem for the Eclipse Acrostic. ‘ Eleanor's lashes flutter. The full moon crowns her with a nimbus brighter than any sun.’ Delightful.

  • Joe O’Connor24 days ago

    Brilliant Sonia 👏 This is a unique and original take on the eclipse concept, and I love how it’s so different, yet such a familiar story. “ Soft and slow I sing of soaring over fields as gentle darkness descends.”- wonderful imagery!

  • Ward Norcutt25 days ago

    indeed! beautiful imagery

  • Hannah Moore25 days ago

    This is so gently elegant.

  • Babs Iverson26 days ago

    Gorgeous full of love for family!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Amanda Starks27 days ago

    Oh my goodness this just tugged at my heart strings!! I'm not a mother myself but I could feel your emotions through this piece of how precious this little girl is. Love the detail and diction used in the poem. Amazing!!

  • Cathy holmes27 days ago

    This is such a beautiful piece. Well done.

  • I love your beautiful unique take on the eclipse challenge.

  • Suze Kay28 days ago

    Oh this is so soft and loving. Just beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.