Poets logo

Nightmares Before Xmess

A Mess Free Holiday

By Sarah JanePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Nightmares Before Xmess
Photo by Brandi Alexandra on Unsplash

The only time I see you now

is in my nightmares

*

I wake up screaming

then sighing in relief

Waking up to this reality

relieved that it was all just

a hard walk through a dream

*

I've been pitied through

the holiday season

without a mother to call

without a family to gather

*

But with the loss of my mother

after cutting ties with my family

I found something invaluable

*

I unwrapped something

you cannot buy discounted

on Black Friday

*

Something you cannot purchase

at any retail store

*

Something you cannot

tie with a ribbon

or decorate with bows

*

I have peace beyond

an image that is framed

on family Christmas cards

*

I have joy beyond

an atmosphere created

by glittering tinsel hanging

on Christmas trees

*

They pity me in my solitude

Stressfully traveling distances

to be in the arms of their families

*

I hold my head high as I drive

through the lights of Christmas eve

with a member of my chosen family

knowing as hard as it is sometimes

I did the right thing

*

I have solace in knowing

that to have a peaceful life

to have a healthy family

I had to leave

the one I was born into behind

to create my dream family

*

One I create everyday on my journey

with kids I will create one day

and love more than anything

once I have fully healed

*

I ask those who don't understand

pity me not

for I am free

inspirational

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sarah JaneWritten by Sarah Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.