Poets logo

Nightmare

Of Love

By ChezaLunaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
5

It's the same nightmare that has visited me every night for as long as I can remember. I'm running through the woods, away from my past. I constantly look behind me to see if it's catching up with me, so I don't see the all-encompassing darkness that waits beyond and beneath me. I run straight into it, and then I fall. It's the same fall I make every night, but somehow it's always different. There's a different scene playing on the darkened walls that surround me: sometimes there are images from my past, at other times, there are images from a horrible future that I could take part in, and the worst is when there are no images glancing back at me, only the immense darkness. I scream as loud as I can, but there is no one to hear me, no one to help me, no one to catch me as I fall to the gruesome death that I know is to follow because I have seen it a thousand times before. When I finally hit the bottom, I know that something has gone differently than it usually does. I know this because I do not recognize what I have hit; my bod has been jerked but not broken. I do not wake up suddenly, but instead, stay in the nightmare. As I open my eyes, I immediately understand what has gone so astray. I did not recognize it simply because it has not ever happened before. I have been caught. Somehow, against all odds, my love has managed to enter into my dream and save me. I look around and see that the darkness has lifted and the sun is beginning to rise. My eyes return to him as I search for answers, and what I find in the depths of his eyes is so much more than I could have ever hoped for. There I witness the unspoken promise that he will always be there to catch me when I fall. The last thing I feel before I wake up is his soft, sweet lips pressed gently to mine, representing our eternal bond, and more importantly, our everlasting love for one another.

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

ChezaLuna

I’m just a wife and mom of 2 trying to make it in life. I write in hopes of making sense of the chaos in my mind. Feedback is always welcome! Please like, subscribe, tip, share, pledge or however this site works🤗 thank you for your time!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Nova Binx2 years ago

    i loved this! well done luv! excited for more!

  • This was so beautiful! I absolutely loved it!

  • This is another really good one. As good as Lost In My Own Mind.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.